So. Cal. Q-Fest 2010 Awards Ceremony

Slap Yo' Daddy - 2nd TOY Overall California 2009

Slap Yo’ Daddy – 2nd TOY Overall California 2009

The East Shore RV Park by Puddingstone Lake in San Dimas, CA, was wet and muddy this year for the 2010 Q-Fest Awards Ceremony to honor the CBBQA Team of the Year (TOY) winners for the 2009 contest year.

Friday Potluck QFest 2010Friday Potluck QFest 2010

The Friday evening potluck was done under the RV canopy courtesy of When Pigs Fly team.  We brought our Make Your Italian Grandma Cry Tennis-Sized Meatballs with Spicy Marinara Coulis and Spaghetti.  It was all gone within minutes.  There was lots of good grub including a dynamite Jambalaya, Pork Tenderloin w Mango Chutney, and Tri Tip Chili.

CBBQA TOY and ROY Winners 2009CBBQA TOY and ROY Winners 2009

Congrats to Rythm and Q for winning the CBBQA TOY overall for 2009.

We came in second TOY overall but we’re going to be gunning for Vince and Alexa in 2010 as we dropped out of the TOY race in 2009 for 3 months to shoot the TLC BBQ Pitmasters TV show.   Despite being out from Aug – Nov, we also managed to win 1st place TOY for Ribs and 2nd place TOY for Pork.  At the KCBS national level, we were amazed to be ranked 24th among 4,500+ teams in the nation.

Congrats to Brazen BBQ who won Rookie Team of the Year ROY 2009.  California ROY teams have typically done well in their second year (R&Q were ROY 2007; Slap Yo Daddy were ROY 2008) so I expect John and his Brazen team to cause heartburn for the rest of us in 2010.

2010 is shaping up to be an exciting TOY year and we’d like to acknowledge our sponsors Rock’s BBQ Systems, T&H Meats, and for supporting our team.

Share on Facebook